+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Hoping I can get a visitor record extension

Oct 15, 2019
I'm trying to figure out if I have enough of a reason to request an extension on my visitor record.

I've been studying in Canada as a US citizen since 2015 at a university which I just graduated from, and I'm attending the convocation later this month. My study permit expired in September, and from what I gathered, I had enough time to gather my things, move out of Canada, and find a job in the states without needing to get any additional papers. I tested this theory out 2 days after my permit expired by crossing into the states for an errand, and I got back in without any trouble.

I visited some family who live 10 hours away in the states for a couple weeks recently and upon getting to the border to attend convocation, I was issued a visitor record that expires on the 31st of October. I'm guessing the reason is my knee-jerk reaction of saying I "temporarily live in Canada until I can secure a job in the states", since I had less than 6 months on my apartment lease and have no intention on renewing it. They were keen on lecturing me on the difference between visiting and living. Fair enough.

Do I have a reasonable case for an extension on this visitor record? I don't think it's possible to gather all my things here, move out of the country, and find an apartment across the border within a span of 16 days. Especially since I'm still actively applying. I want to give myself a deadline of until December of this year, but anything is better than 16 days.

I should also mention I can go to the border office that issued this visitor record and plead my case in person.

Last edited:

k.h.p.

VIP Member
Mar 1, 2019
Canada
Why didn't you apply for a PGWP?