+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Helps people please !!

Christina1111

Jan 9, 2018
Hi guys, hope someone can help me today so here my story I came in Canada 10 years ago has refugee and I’m now a permanent resident. But during this period I renewed my nationality passeport and went to Algéria .. didn’t know could be a problem. Now I want to travel really soon wondering If i use my algérien passeport ? Or I apply for a travel document? because in the application for the Refugee travel document they ask if went back in my county and if I renewed my passeport ? What should o do ? Thanks in advance !

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Definitely do not use your Algerian passport to travel. Get a travel document.

It's very unfortunate you renewed your Algerian passport - but there's nothing you can do about that now. Don't make the situation worse by using it to travel. And whatever you do, definitely do not travel back to Algeria.

It's possible the fact you renewed your Algerian passport could cause problems when you apply for Canadian citizenship - and even result in your PR status being revoked. There's a thread dedicated to this issue in the citizenship section of the forum here that you may want to review: https://www.canadavisa.com/canada-immigration-discussion-board/threads/refugee-status-cessation-and-prs-applying-for-citizenship.333455/page-13

Again, do not use your passport to travel and do not visit your home country.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Definitely do not use your Algerian passport to travel. Get a travel document.