+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

General Question (Common Law)

hotpinktop

Feb 11, 2011
First off, let me say that I am extremely grateful for this forum. I have learned so much lurking in here for a month than close to 3 months of constant calls to CIC Call Centre.

I need a bit of help.

My partner and I are thinking of filing under “Common Law”. Ours is a pretty straightforward case. We’re both single. He’s Canadian. I have been working in Canada for 4 years now under a valid Work Permit. I am from a Third World Country, and is 7 years older than him (just thought I'd throw it in there for a more accurate background :p )

We have been living together since February 2010, and we have joint Lease Agreement and Rental Receipts under both our names. However, as in most cases, we never really thought of going down this immigration path (Family Class) until recently. So, the Joint Bank accounts, insurance, etc. didn’t happen until about August 2010. We have letters addressed to both our names as well as some pictures since February, but no formal anything that screams “COMMON LAW” – until, again, August-September when we started formally combining our affairs.

My question is: Should we wait until August of this year to file, or can we risk counting from February (for the 12 months needed)? I have friends who can testify to our living arrangements since February though.

Another problem is that my partner and the rest of his family are very anti-pictures. So although there were gatherings and parties, I never really take pictures because none of them want theirs taken. Rather than risk offending them, I simply don’t take pictures. As a result, we have very few of them.

As for vacations, we’ve taken about two, but again, no pictures. And we didn’t keep any receipts or keepsake. *Sigh* had I known we’d try applying under Family Class, I would have definitely made a serious effort to collate everything I can. But, it’s too late now.