+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Flagpoling for PGWP. Peace Bridge, Queenston-Lewiston Bridge or Rainbow Bridge?

Aug 10, 2023
Hey, I'm an international student who recently graduated and planning on flagpoling for my PGWP very soon. I know that the CSBA offices run from 8 AM to midnight. However, there's also a stringent quota on how many PGWPs they can process on a given day (Usually 10).

So my question is, which border do you guys feel I would have the best shot at getting in line? Any advice or tips on when to reach the border, whether I should use a car or go on foot, etc. -- would be highly appreciated. I'm sure not everyone can compare all the locations to each other, so I was hoping that you kind people could leave some anecdotes. :)

Thank you!

Last edited:

Shmiler

Star Member
Oct 19, 2020
Do you NEED to flagpole? i.e. do you need to leave the country and will go out of status?

Remember if you apply online for PGWP while study permit and visa are valid then you can work on maintained status.

My PGWP was processed inside 2 months.

If you do NEED to flagpole then the 1000 islands (Kingston) crossing seems to get the most positive feedback, and it's open 24/7 for your status change (no quotas like the ones you mentioned).

Aug 10, 2023
Do you NEED to flagpole? i.e. do you need to leave the country and will go out of status?

Remember if you apply online for PGWP while study permit and visa are valid then you can work on maintained status.

If you do NEED to flagpole then the 1000 islands (Kingston) crossing seems to get the most positive feedback, and it's open 24/7 for your status change (no quotas like the ones you mentioned).
I was a part-time student for two semesters during Covid for which I can’t work on maintained status.

When did you apply for your PGWP? The wait time is 5-6 months right now. I get that I might still luck out and get it sooner but I don’t want to take my chances.