+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Express Entry after Working Holiday

Scryden

Jan 29, 2016
Hello everyone,

I am badly in need of some advise and hope somebody with experience can help me out.

I am currently residing in Canada on a Working Holiday visa with an Open Work Permit. I work in Canada for a Canadian employer in IT. I am a systems analyst which is NOC level B. I have less than one year of Canadian work experience (obviously) but 5 years of full time work experience in total. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science.

I want to stay permanently in Canada but my current Open Work permit is due to expire on June 14th 2017. Because the Express Entry is going to take a while (6 months according to the CIC website after being invited from the Express Entry Pool), I applied for work permit extension first. This application got refused because you cannot extend your working holiday permit. A big facepalm to myself, I admit that this was foolish of myself, cause I could've known that and not waste $250 on the application.

Now I am just in desperation as on what to do next. I can take the CELPIP language test and submit my Express Entry application after that, but again I only have 3 months left on my work permit and don't want to risk becoming unemployed. I tried talking to an immigration lawyer but they charge me $1000 right away for their services. They tell me "we can do all your applications for you and represent you in these applications", however, I think I can do that myself when I know what to do. I basically just have a few questions as to what am I supposed to do in this situation and in what order? That doesn't really justify a $1000 fee to me. The CELPIP test is going to cost me $300 as well so all in all it is already gonna be costly enough as it is right now.