+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can I sponsor my girfriend even if i’m a student?

andrei0917

Star Member
Oct 6, 2017
I was born in Romania but have moved here in Canada 20 years ago. I’m 26 years old and currently studying in college where I met this amazing woman in the student housing where I lived. She is an international student and later became my girlfriend. We’ve been living together since September 2016. She recently finished her one year program only because her father lost his job and couldn’t support her school expenses for the second year. She has a part time job because it is allowed on her visa. That’s why she applied for her post graduate work permit that will only last a year. If approved, her permit will expire next year around Oct-November which is why I want to sponsor her because I need her to stay with me. I’m planning to propose to her come this Christmas which leads me to these questions:

1. Can I sponsor her even if I’m still a student? I have a part time job now and had full time jobs before deciding to go to college. My parents love her and are willing to help her stay here.
2. Should I sponsor her for common law or wait until we get married to sponosr her for spousal visa?

Her time is ticking and I don’t want to lose her over her status here in Canada. I hope to get answers here asap.

Thank you!

screech339

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2013
Category........
Visa Office......
Vegreville
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
14-08-2012
AOR Received.
20-11-2012
Med's Done....
18-07-2012
Interview........
17-06-2013
LANDED..........
17-06-2013