+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Bridging Work Permit

Discussion in 'Canadian Experience Class' started by hsocs_12, Apr 7, 2019.

1. Hi,

I submitted my PR application in Dec 10, 2018. My Post grad Open work permit (PGWP) is going to expire soon in June 16, 2019. So I am planning to apply for BOWP.
    There are a few question in the IMM 5710 form that I am not sure how to answer . Please correct me if I am wrong with any answers. I would greatly appreciate any kind of help .

Q3 I am applying for one or more of the following:
    a. A work permit with the same employer
    b. An initial work permit or a work permit with a new employer
    c. Restoration of your status as a worker
    d. Temporary resident permit

(I am a post grad open work permit holder working for the same employer for more than a year, therefore I am inclined to choose option a. However I am thinking that option a would be suitable for applicants that hold a closed work permit or a job offer with LMIA [which I do not have]. In that case ,should I pick option b instead? )
    For a open work permit holder, does it really matter whether I pick option a or b?

Under details of intended work in Canada:

Q1 What type of work permit are you applying for:
    Answer: Open Work Permit
    -The guide instructions provided in the CIC website, indicate the following:
    "If you chose “Open work permit” or post-graduation work permit no information is required for question: 2,3,4,6,7,8."

This means I still need to answer question 5:
    Q5 Duration of expected employment
    Is it acceptable to put for example a year from today's date? What do you advise?

Other questions:
    According to the instructions on the CIC website, I need to submit my AOR letter as part of the application documents, using the “Letter of Explanation” field (when applying online).