+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Bilingual application - 13 months and waiting

Bram82

Sep 29, 2018
Hi everybody,

I have applied for PR - CEC/Express Entry on April 11th, 2018, now more than 13 months ago (Ottawa office). I have been meticulous and know that there is nothing controversial or difficult about my application. However, the GCMS notes state nothing has been done since June 2018 (at least according to these notes) and there seems to be still some work to be done on security (it is the only section that had a deadline ongoing, April 2019 last time I checked). So presumably, the issue is with security.

This is where it gets interesting: my (Belgian) document that shows that I have no criminal background is the original, in French. Everything else is in English. My suspicion/paranoia (by this point) is that my files have been circulating around due to the processing officers not being able to read the French document... I have contacted a lawyer here in Toronto, without holding high hopes.

Question 1: are GCMS notes providing a sufficient picture of the process? If yes, my application has been stored indefinitely. If no, this seems to go against the general idea of "right of access to information".
Question 2: did anybody else experience delays with bilingual applications?

Any help is much appreciated!

k.h.p.

VIP Member
Mar 1, 2019
Canada
Canada is a bilingual country. They can read French.

If you have security review ongoing, that's not connected to your police check. They're talking to CSIS and the RCMP and FBI to find out if you're a security threat to Canada. That can take a very long time.

Reactions: Bram82

Bram82

Sep 29, 2018
Canada is a bilingual country. They can read French.

If you have security review ongoing, that's not connected to your police check. They're talking to CSIS and the RCMP and FBI to find out if you're a security threat to Canada. That can take a very long time.