+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for a PGWP and study permit simultaneously

May 25, 2021
I am a new graduate and wanted to apply for a PGWP however I am not confident of getting it (gap and part time sem). I also have a masters offer and was wondering what happens if I apply for a study permit to cover the case of pursuing a masters if I don’t get a PGWP? More specifically

1) What happens if I apply to extend the study permit then apply for a PGWP? Do I lose the right to work full time while I wait for a decision on my PGWP app?

2) Would applying for two different seemingly contradictory temp permits be problematic?

3) Lets say I get the PGWP and the study permit, in that case I would wanna work to make use of my PGWP. Would somehow getting a study permit but not pursuing studies be problematic in any way? Can I somehow smoothly “cancel” it? Does that affect any future residency apps in any way?

Feel free to skip any questions

Thanks in advance

santzapaul

Aug 8, 2016
I am a new graduate and wanted to apply for a PGWP however I am not confident of getting it (gap and part time sem). I also have a masters offer and was wondering what happens if I apply for a study permit to cover the case of pursuing a masters if I don’t get a PGWP? More specifically

1) What happens if I apply to extend the study permit then apply for a PGWP? Do I lose the right to work full time while I wait for a decision on my PGWP app?

2) Would applying for two different seemingly contradictory temp permits be problematic?

3) Lets say I get the PGWP and the study permit, in that case I would wanna work to make use of my PGWP. Would somehow getting a study permit but not pursuing studies be problematic in any way? Can I somehow smoothly “cancel” it? Does that affect any future residency apps in any way?

Thanks in advance