+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applied for PGWP online under complicated circumstances, I need some advice on whether I can work while I wait.

Aug 10, 2023
Hello! I'm a recent graduate (International Student) who recently applied for my PGWP online. However, I was a part-time student for one semester during Winter 2021, which was not my final semester. To put things in more perspective, my longest stretch of being a full-time student was 20 months, with 4 months being part-time and then another 16 months of being full-time. After applying for my PGWP online, I received a WP-EXT (IMM 1207) stating I can work for 120 days wherever and with no hour limit.

Now, I know I can't work on maintained status, but I did receive this WP-EXT at the end of the day. I've looked at overriding laws, and everything seems to indicate that I should be able to work, except the third bullet point in this section, which contains "...they were a full-time student enrolled at a DLI in a post-secondary academic, vocational or professional training program of at least 8 months in duration that led to a degree...". The length of my degree was 4 years (I needed 5 years), and I was a full-time student except for one semester.

Does this disqualify me from being a full-time student?
Does this mean I can not work until I receive a decision on my PGWP (Even though I have a WP-EXT)?