+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

All PhDs working in US now will get ITA?

canadadreamming

Star Member
Mar 2, 2015
I have a friend with PhD in US and his visa is expiring soon, I am suggesting him to apply for EE but since now EE only accept above 600 it is not certain for him at all. Anyone working in USA right now with a PhD will most likely have a score above 500, does that mean EE this year everyone in US will be invited? This would be a great opportunities for people there

canadadreamming

Star Member
Mar 2, 2015
AndreasChen said:
How does your "most likely" work? :-X
If you have a PhD in US, your IELTS can easily be CLB10, most PhD will be around 26 when they graduate, working for a few years and they are still less than 30, their education score is max. My friend did a quick apply and he got 530 I think, so it is not difficult at all to be selected.

pixelfrontier

Star Member
Oct 13, 2014
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
A PhD from the US as in someone who's never worked in Canada?

600 is the max number of points you can get without a LMIA/PNP.
24 is the number of points you get if you speak perfect French.
600 - 24 = 576.

80 is the max number of points you can get for 5 years of Canadian work experience. 1 year only gets you 40, and 2 years gets you 53.
576 - 80 = 496.

Foreign work experience gives you a max of 50 points but if you don't have Canadian work experience only 3+ years will get you 50 points. A PhD aged less than 30 will probably have 1 or 2 years of work experience tops (which only gives you 25 points).
496 - 25 = 474.

canadadreamming

Star Member
Mar 2, 2015
pixelfrontier said:
A PhD from the US as in someone who's never worked in Canada?

600 is the max number of points you can get without a LMIA/PNP.
24 is the number of points you get if you speak perfect French.
600 - 24 = 576.