+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

AINP: Questions about years of education

sa_naveed

Feb 26, 2009
Hello guys,

Need some help about counting total years of education?

- In our country, the standard years of study for Computer Science Bachelors degree are 4 but I actually took 5 years to finish it. My question is, while counting total years of education, which number should I consider; 4 or 5?

- Before enrolling in the above bachelor degree program, I was enrolled in another degree program. I studied in this former program for two full years as full time student but then I dropped out and didn't get any degree or certificate. Later I joined above program and earned Computer Science degree.

The question here is should I count these two years that I spent in the earlier program towards my total years of education. If I count them, the important point is, I don't have any certificate or document to prove that I studied during this period. On the other hand, if I don't count it, then what should I mention in immigration forms that what did I do during these two years.

- The IMM 0008 form contains 3 boxes for education; primary/elementary, Secondary/High and University/ College. My question is about how to accommodate my education, details below, in these boxes:

Primary: 5 years
High School: 5 years - got secondary school certificate
College: 2 years - got FSC/Intermediate certificate
College: 2 years full time Bachelors, but then dropped out and has no degree/certificate
University: 5 years study - got Computer Science degree

Thanks,

ingegarcia

Jun 19, 2008
Edmonton
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
28-01-2010
College: 2 years full time Bachelors, but then dropped out and has no degree/certificate

This is what I would do...
Total Number of Years = 17....
Highest level of education = Bachelor

This is solely my opinion and I am not expert/lawyer/immigration consultant

sa_naveed

Feb 26, 2009