+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Is this misrepresentation?

Sonia99

Aug 24, 2018
Hello all,

I hope seniors will help me here.

I was a student in Canada for 2 years and applied for a study permit extension. Before applying for the study permit extension something happened with me. I was shopping at H&M when unintentionally a 5 dollar earring fell into my bag and I was totally unaware of it as I was shopping with my friend. When I was walking out of the store the alarm rang and the security came to check me. They got a earring in my shopping bag which I had no intention to steal. I wasn’t handcuffed or anything though a police officer was called and I was sent for fingerprinting and photographed. I did so on the day scheduled. After a week I had to go to the court and when I spoke to the lawyer he presented my case to the judge and the judge dismissed the case without any further process or even any trial. I had to pay 50 dollar though and I was even asked to clear my fingerprints and photographs. I didn’t do that because I didn’t commit any crime. This happened in December.

I applied for study permit in January and was given my study permit extension. I also applied for pgwp and was granted pgwp for 3 years without declaring the arrest or charge because I wasn’t guilty or convicted. I applied for a TRV with my pgwp and I’m granted the TRV as well without stating the arrest or charge. Later my friend suggested me to send a webform stating this entire incident and I did so. My TRV is approved and I have to send it for stamping. The webform will be delivered to cic will this affect my TRV?

It honestly wasn’t my mistake. Even the judge and lawyer asked me to forget about whatever happened as I really wasn’t my mistake. I had no intention to steal a 5 dollar earring. Please help.

Sonia99

Aug 24, 2018