+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

International Student

Twiga

Feb 14, 2012
I need a help from everyone out there, I came to USA 7 years ago, I graduated from a university and granted one year OPT, while I was on my OPT my wife who came with an F2 changed her visa to F1. When she started school, I forget that I was supposed to change my visa from F1 to F2 so I had already overstayed. My wife has applied a college in Canada and she has been accepted, we have two boys who were born in Zambia and two girls who were born here in US. My questions are:-
1. Because I over stayed here in US, can I apply a Canadian visa here in US or I need to go back to Zambia and apply from there?
2. Can my wife be denied due to my status here in US?
3. Will the number of children that we have can be an issue?
4. Does it make any difference applying from Buffalo and from Los Angeles?
5. My wife finished with Associate Degree; will it be OK for her to go to Canada and join a junior college with the major similar to what she took here in US? She graduated with Associate in Counseling and she is going for Early Childhood Development.
6. Does anyone have an advice concerning this matter?

I will appreciate for you kindly responses from my questions above, may God bless each one of you.

Thanks
Alex

ashokcan

Apr 28, 2011
Twiga said:
I need a help from everyone out there, I came to USA 7 years ago, I graduated from a university and granted one year OPT, while I was on my OPT my wife who came with an F2 changed her visa to F1. When she started school, I forget that I was supposed to change my visa from F1 to F2 so I had already overstayed. My wife has applied a college in Canada and she has been accepted, we have two boys who were born in Zambia and two girls who were born here in US. My questions are:-
1. Because I over stayed here in US, can I apply a Canadian visa here in US or I need to go back to Zambia and apply from there?