+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

How Much can I borrow for a mortgage as a Day Trader.

ali79uk

Aug 29, 2014
Hello

I had a question about Loan to Value and also how my average earnings would be determined.

I am a share day trader and have recently completed my first year of trading.

I am grossing approximately $120k per annum.

Based on this, how much could I get as a mortgage, and what LTV % could be on offer.

1) I have been full time employed since Jan-2001 until last summer when I decided to day trade shares full time.
2) My reported income on my Tax forms is $120,000 so after tax I have approximately $82,000 net.
3) I am self employed (though am not incorporated).
4) I dont really have a credit rating as I will be new to Canada (am moving in August 2015).
5) I am looking to purchase a home to live in. Initially looking to buy something circa $350,000
6) I have a down payment but wanted to know the maximum loan to value I could get.
7) I have no other debts and do not have credit cards etc.

Kind Regards

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
All of the major banks have online calculators that allow you to calculate this type of information. Here's one:

https://tools.td.com/calculators/mortgage-affordability/

Note that it's possible the bank may not be willing to lend you the full amount since you are a day trader rather than someone with a salary. You'll have to speak with the bank to find out more.

ALRIVAS

Star Member
May 8, 2013
Toronto
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
10-12-1994
Hello there as a rule all new immigrants with out Canadian credit history will be required to give 20% to 35% downpayment.