+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Filipina visiting Canada then marriage

grape

Apr 22, 2012
hi.

A man that I had been communicating online for 4 years now wishes me to visit him, get married there as soon as we can and possibly live there and start our own family.

I am a filipina and i dont know what kind of visa to get. I have read a lot also about how it would be hard for me to enter canada as i need show money, properties under my name and so on.

Is that possible? enter canada and ge married there??

please help and hopefully first hand experience.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
You have to apply for a temporary resident visa (TRV):

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/apply-how.asp

To be approved, you must show that you have sufficient funds to pay for your trip, have strong ties to your home country and have no plans to remain in Canada long term.

Unfortunately there's a fairly high chance you will be turned down for a TRV given your country of origin. However you can always try. And if you are turned down, then the man will have to travel to your country and marry you there.

If you are approved for a TRV, then yes - you can get married once you get to Canada.

grape

Apr 22, 2012
Thank you very much answering my querries very fast.

I have additional question though:

What kind of strong ties in my country do they need from me??

If he comes here and marry me here, is there a better chance for me to enter canada faster??

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........