+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Extend Stay for Parents as Visitors (NOT Super Visa)

informer2000

Star Member
Oct 6, 2008
Hi,

I'm a graduate student and my parents are visiting me here in Canada. They have been here for 5 months and I would like to extend their stay before the 6 months allowed for visitors are over. They will be applying by mail and I have a few questions that I would hope someone could help me with.

1. For a family application, is it enough that they just send both applications in the same envelope? I'm asking because there seems to be an form for a family representative for online applications but I don't see anything about that in the checklist for mailed applications.

2. Do they both need to send photos? In the supporting documents section for the online application there is a field for a digital photo. But that is only for the principal applicant (and it would be weird to generate a joint photo!). Again, no mentioning of any photos required in the checklist.

3. For the purpose of their stay, I just want them to spend some more time with me over here over the Christmas break and New Year's Eve before they go back home since I'm not sure if either of us will be able to visit any time soon. Their entry visa expired shortly after they arrived and I'm in my final year of my degree so I will not be able to travel. They already have return tickets which I will change to a later date and will provide a copy of the tickets with my application. Would that be ok/reasonable?

Reactions: hhardyyy

informer2000

Star Member
Oct 6, 2008
Can someone at least confirm that they don't need to send photographs if I'm sending the application by regular mail?

Also, since they visited me a couple of years ago, would the entry date for that visit be the date of their original entry to Canada mentioned in the form?

Thanks..

user828

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2012
Vancouver
Category........
Visa Office......