+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

can I sponsor my spouse if I am not currently in Canada?

yelena

May 8, 2015
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
a theoretical question.

If I am a permanent resident, but I haven't lived in Canada at all, and I am living and working in another country.. Can I apply to sponsor my spouse?
I can commit to live in Canada and provide for my spouse at the time he becomes a permanent resident, but now I am wondering if there is some sort of restriction that says you can only apply to sponsor your spouse or children only after you have spent certain amount of time living in Canada? If there is such a requirement, can someone please tell me more on this topic?

thanks!

Mapleson

Apr 2, 2015
Toronto, Canada
Category........
Visa Office......
Havana
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
23-03-2015
Doc's Request.
21-08-2015
AOR Received.
24-04-2015
File Transfer...
28-05-2015
Med's Request
Upfront
Med's Done....
13-02-2015
Interview........
N/A
Passport Req..
24-09-2015
VISA ISSUED...
30-09-2015
LANDED..........
18-10-2015
The question becomes how much time you have spent outside Canada.

You need at least 730 days in a rolling 5-year period physically in Canada (exceptions include travelling with a Canadian spouse or working for a Canadian company abroad).

If you can't meet that requirement, you would lose your PR status and would not qualify as a sponsor.

Otherwise, you need to return to Canada while sponsoring your spouse.

MilesAway

Champion Member
Jul 26, 2012
Category........
Visa Office......
Warsaw
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
15-09-2014
Doc's Request.
09-04-2015
AOR Received.
12-11-2014
File Transfer...
30-10-2014
Med's Done....
26-08-2014
Passport Req..
23-04-2015
VISA ISSUED...
07-05-2015
LANDED..........
04-06-2015