+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Assessment of language skills

kramvi

Star Member
Mar 18, 2011
I have a Master's degree from the US and several years of management experience there. I am very fluent in written, spoken and listening of English. I also know some French.

I was taking for granted that they would be able to assess my language skills at the interview after talking to me but after going through the procedural rules manual I am thinking. Will I still have to take some kind of tests as English is not my first language? And even if I am able to converse with the officer in French, will that mean anything if I don't have any test scores? Someone please advise.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

kramvi said:
I have a Master's degree from the US and several years of management experience there. I am very fluent in written, spoken and listening of English. I also know some French.

I was taking for granted that they would be able to assess my language skills at the interview after talking to me but after going through the procedural rules manual I am thinking. Will I still have to take some kind of tests as English is not my first language? And even if I am able to converse with the officer in French, will that mean anything if I don't have any test scores? Someone please advise.
No, they won't test your language skills at the interview, you have to submit the IELTs results with your application for English and TEF if you want to claim points for French. Go back read the instructions http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/skilled.asp

kramvi

Star Member
Mar 18, 2011
I do have an IELTS test taken more than 3 years ago. Would that suffice? And how much time before the interview does one normally receive a letter from them? Do they give you enough time to gather documents, etc?

kramvi

Star Member
Mar 18, 2011