+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for a Travel Document as a Permanent Resident

Rsw1209

Apr 9, 2024
Hello everyone, I apologize if this isn’t the right section to ask.
I’ve been looking everywhere and I can’t find an answer to my question.
I am a Permanent Resident. I acquired my status through spousal sponsorship, i’m not a protected person or a refugee (and never applied for those type of statuses).
My passport has expired, and I am unable to renew it (mainly, there is no embassy in Canada for my country, but also, I have not completed mandatory military service so I do not believe they would issue a passport for me).

Is there any chance that someone in my situation can apply for a travel document from Canada to travel to a third country? (Not eligible for Citizenship yet).

Thank you!

Reactions: travisjohn257

YVR123

VIP Member
Jul 27, 2017
I am a Permanent Resident. I acquired my status through spousal sponsorship, i’m not a protected person or a refugee (and never applied for those type of statuses).
My passport has expired, and I am unable to renew it (mainly, there is no embassy in Canada for my country, but also, I have not completed mandatory military service so I do not believe they would issue a passport for me).

Is there any chance that someone in my situation can apply for a travel document from Canada to travel to a third country? (Not eligible for Citizenship yet).

Thank you!
This is not from personal experience. But according to google, there is an option to get Certificate of identity as PR.
Canadian Certificate of Identity - Wikipedia

Scroll down and look up the details on getting CI :
Types of passports and travel documents - Canada.ca

Reactions: Rsw1209

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010