+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Apply for Citizenship before reaching Physical Presence

danisa

Oct 7, 2009
Hello Everyone,

I am in need your advice & guidance on my planning for Citizenship Application (in near future).

In brief:
- Landed in Oct/2007 with a work visa
- Become a PR april/2011

I have by now the basic Residency, but because my husband travel so much for work reasons I have a lot of abscences (approx 400 + days) and according to the residence calculator I don't have the Physical presence until Jan/2015 but I will keep traveling so the date will keep changing. During my periods of absence I still having tights to Canada, my house, paying bills/credit cards, taxes, etc.

My concerns are as follow:

1: Any one has ever applied (even heard of) and got citizenship of Canada on the criteria of Basic residency without the physical presence.

2: Can professional advice and representation from lawyer can be of more help, prior to applying to Citizenship, in my case?

3: Godforbid, if my citizenship application is rejected, is there any chance that I will not be eligible for renewal of my PR card?

The personal and family situation is making me think in the direction of application for Citizenship on Basic Residency criteria. I would be very grateful for any information or advice in my case.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Based on everything I have seen/read on this forum - I would strongly recommend that you wait until you qualify to apply.