+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Young Mexican College student planning to move out (Questions)

wndr

Jan 17, 2014
Hi there, I have a couple of questions in regards to immigrating to Canada, living and working there. I was born in the U.S and moved to Mexico around I was 13. So my English level is decent and I've had no problems with it. I am currently studying Animation and Visual effects in Mexico. By the time I graduate, I plan to move to Canada. Why Canada? I love cold weather, life style is decent, all around better (As what some of my Canadian friends say). Plus I have a really good friend or two over there.

My plan is to work there on some low wage job while I build up my professional skills as a Conceptual Artist on my own. I'll be also working freelance until I get a job offer around Canada or another country.

So I have a couple of questions regarding my life plan in Canada. How hard will it be to get my visa/papers worked out? How much time will all the processing take? Taking into consideration what I actually want to do (getting a simple low wage job and living there), what immigration programs would be recommended? Do I need a work visa in able to work on a low wage job? Can I move to Canada and get my papers/visa worked out there myself?

That is all. Would appreciate greatly your answers! Thanks.

-Christopher

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
You can't "move" to Canada until you are authorized to do so (i.e. have a work permit or have been accepted as an immigrant).