+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

You are claiming work experience prior to the application of your post graduate work permit

shrashanth

Jan 30, 2019
Hello everyone
Here is what i got today from CIC
i need to respond to this within 3 days so please help me out
"You are claiming work experience prior to the application of your post graduate work permit" --- this is my concern
My issue: i graduated in december 2017
Got letter from my universty to apply Work Permit on Feb 10th 2018
I applied Work permit on march 27 2017 and got it approved from may 2017 till may 2020
I started working in an NOC job from Feb 15th 2017 and till Aug 2018 (before applying Work permit) and i have shown the same on my letter of work ecperiance while applied for my canadian
expeiance class PR application
And now i have asked a question "You are claiming work experience prior to the application of your post graduate work permit" ???

Please guide me how to deal with this situation

Bs65

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2016
Clarify your dates as they seem all over the place Uni said you can apply for a work permit feb 2018, yet you applied March 2017 ? You cannot claim any work experience whilst on a study permit if by those dates that is what you are implying. Only work from the time you apply for a PGWP.

Note also the statement below about working once you receive a completion letter. Based on your post not sure if that applies without clarity on the dates

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/corporate/publications-manuals/operational-bulletins-manuals/temporary-residents/study-permits/campus-work.html

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
Hello everyone