+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

WP with toddler.

mbstewart

Jun 12, 2014
Hi,

I've lived and worked in Alberta a few years back, now wife and i would like to go back and do the same again with the view to doing PR.

I've read it a thousand times but can't seem to grasp the answer to this question: if we're taking our 18 month old with us, do I need an extra application for him? Or do we simply list him on our applications and get processed all together? Wife and I applying for open permits, wife is Registered nurse and is actually registered in Alberta currently, me i'm a graphic designer/photographer.

Thanks guys!

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
Hi

If you are visa-exempt, then you can ask for a visitor record for your child when you arrive in Canada to match your work permit length. If you aren't visa-exempt, then you must apply for a TRV for your child; you can submit the TRV app with your work permit apps.

How do you and your wife qualify for OWPs?

mbstewart

Jun 12, 2014
Thanks so much for the prompt response. We're Australian Citizens so definitely not visa-exempt (if i'm understanding you).

When we obtained visas back in 2009, we received authorisation for open work permits, this was via the old WHP website that used to be available. We're only applying for the open permits as that's all i'm familiar with. I'm not too familiar with all the other types of permits, and given it was one of the options when doing the questionnaire online, I just chose it for both of us because what i thought was correct.

If you have knowledge that would suggest otherwise, please feel free to say. It is definitely a little more confusing this time around compared to some years ago. And I get the impression a TRV for our 18 month old is what we need to do, so i'll look into that as well.

Many thanks!

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12