+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working while waiting on spousal sponsorship PR

RyanD91

Star Member
Apr 14, 2019
Hello all, I am an American citizen who currently resides in Ontario on a Post-Graduation-Work-Permit that allows me to work for virtually any employer of my choosing until December 2020.

My goal is to gain Permanent Residence after my work permit runs its course.

I graduated with a 4 yr BFA from a Canadian university. I am improving my resume and bolstering my career, but unfortunately, I don't think I will meet the requirements for Express Entry by the time my open work permit expires. Most of my income comes from Skill class D related labor for the time being, even though I am from time to time earning revenue through my freelance work and making notable achievements it isn't enough to meet the express entry requirements. I plan on continuing to increase my prospects as a freelance artist and potentially go into teaching or conservation at some point, but it won't be in a timely manner for the purposes of the permanent residence application to Canada.

My dilemma is that I have met a woman here in Canada that I have fallen in love with. She is a Filipino citizen who has gained permanent residency in Canada through her family. We have been together for a year and a half at the point that I am writing this and by the time my open work permit expires, we will have been together for 3 years. We are planning to apply for spousal sponsorship through common law or marriage.

I am curious to know a few things-

Is there a specific income that she will need to be making to sponsor me? She also works a Skill Class D job, works full time. I would be settling in Canada with roughly $25,000 CAD, and her something similar to that as well in her savings.