+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working in the arts/theatre advice needed and what is my profession classed as?

Kemble

Aug 4, 2010
Apologies if this is somewhat ridiculous or already answered, it'd be wonderful for any advice/answers on this, even a 'You have no idea what you're talking about!'

I'm a Stage Manager (primarily), and a prop maker, (so my NOC classification/s are 'Other Technical and Co-ordinating Occupations in Motion Pictures, Broadcasting and the Performing Arts' and 'Support Occupations in Motion Pictures, Broadcasting and the Performing Arts'). I've taken the online assessment, which without arranged employment I got 67 for. (I do have family in Canada, but they live in New Brunswick and can't sponsor me, so I stated on the form that I didn't). If I had arranged employment I would have got 80.

I'm just confused about work permits, or classification (skilled worker? I'm guessing I'm not) because of the particular profession - jobs don't tend to last more than a few months, so unless I was lucky enough to be attached to one theatre, I may have to have different jobs in different theatres every time a production of a play ended (if I chose to carry on my career there, that is). Does a work permit allow this?