+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working Holiday Visa - Tax income

marcosanderson

Apr 21, 2018
Hi all,

Well, I am a completely newbie in tax income, since in my country I don't need to fill in any files.
So I will tell my story, and please help me to understand.

I got a WHV and arrived in Canada in July 10th 2017.
Then I got a job as a independent contractor since then.

By what I could understand for tax purposes, I would not need to fill any files, because I stayed less than 183 in 2017 in Canada.
However I was told (by some friends) that, since I wanna immigrate to Canada, I needed to fill the income taxes.
I guess he said I would need to fill as non-resident, is that right?

Also, there are any guides in how to do that?

Thank you in advance!

marcosanderson

Apr 21, 2018
Ok, I understand I need to fill it as a Non-resident for tax purposes.

However, since I work as an independent contractor I have no idea if I am subject to Part XII or Part I, could anyone help to understand?

Part XIII tax
Part XIII tax is deducted from the types of income listed below. To make sure the correct amount is deducted, it's important to tell Canadian payers:
  • that you're a non-resident of Canada for tax purposes; and
  • your country of residence.
The most common types of Canadian income subject to Part XIII tax are:
  • dividends;
  • annuity payments;
  • management fees

Part I tax

The payer usually deducts Part I tax from the types of income listed below. However, if you carry on a business in Canada, or sell or transfer taxable Canadian property, you may have to pay an amount on account of tax:
Even if the payer deducts tax from your income or you pay an amount of tax during the year, you may also have to file a Canadian income tax return to calculate your final tax obligation to Canada on:
  • income from employment in Canada or from a business carried on in Canada;