+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Work experience gained during studies will be counted or not (Outside Canada)

luckyx27

Star Member
Apr 11, 2017
It is very confusing now. Some threads were suggesting not to mention work experience gained during full time studies whilst some are saying we can include and can increase the CRS points.
I am on the same boat and would like to get an expert opinion on this. Would be highly appreciated if someone can answer.

I have total 3 years of experience. However, 2 years out of that were during my MBA in the UK on student visa. Though it is clearly mentioned on my reference letter that I worked 30 hours per week on average which means some time 50 hrs/week and sometimes it 20 hrs/week(Part time is also mentioned). Will that be fine or no?

TanakaM

VIP Member
Dec 29, 2016
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
AOR Received.
14-04-17
luckyx27 said:
It is very confusing now. Some threads were suggesting not to mention work experience gained during full time studies whilst some are saying we can include and can increase the CRS points.
I am on the same boat and would like to get an expert opinion on this. Would be highly appreciated if someone can answer.

I have total 3 years of experience. However, 2 years out of that were during my MBA in the UK on student visa. Though it is clearly mentioned on my reference letter that I worked 30 hours per week on average which means some time 50 hrs/week and sometimes it 20 hrs/week(Part time is also mentioned). Will that be fine or no?
Foreign work experience gained at the same time as education is acceptable. The only problem I foresee with yours is that it may be illegal experience as the student visa only allows you to work 20hrs per week. Whether the Immigration Officers consider that or not, I don't know.

All the best

jpv2212

Jan 30, 2015
Category........
FSW
luckyx27 said: