+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Will I qualify for CEC

Confused_Desi

Jul 6, 2010
Hello All,

Some background: Completed my engineering from Toronto in 2003, worked for approx 10 months (graduate work visa) after that in Toronto as an Applications Engineer. Got my MBA from the US and have been now working for the last 4 years as an IT Auditor in a Big 4 accounting firm. Now I am planning on getting a work visa (intra-transfer) from my current company to work in Canada.

Question: After working for a year in Canada can I apply under the CEC as I have a post-secondary degree from Canada? My current work experience is not inline with my engineering degree that I got from Toronto but is in line with my MBA from the US. OR will I have to work for 2 years before I can apply as a temporary foreign worker.

Per the CIC website:
You must meet these minimum requirements to apply for permanent residence under the Canadian Experience Class. You must:
...be either:
a temporary foreign worker with at least two years of full-time (or equivalent) skilled work experience in Canada, or
a foreign graduate from a Canadian post-secondary institution with at least one year of full-time (or equivalent) skilled work experience in Canada

But at the end they say:
...If you apply as a graduate of a Canadian post-secondary educational institution with Canadian work experience, it will be assessed using the above requirements, as well as:

- your education.

Thank you in advance.

Essat

Star Member
Sep 17, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
Los Angeles, USA
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
11-March-2010
AOR Received.
13-May-2010
IELTS Request
-
File Transfer...
To LA on 10-Nov-2010
Med's Request
08-12-2010
Med's Done....
14-01-2011, sent 26-01-2011
Passport Req..
13-April-2011
VISA ISSUED...
17-May-2011
LANDED..........
05-Jun-2011
Hi,

You should qualify for CEC after working for 1 year in Canada. The key things are: