+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Who has to sign the letters of reference for EE work experience?

Zoide

Star Member
Sep 15, 2014
Costa Rica
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi,

According to the FSW class document checklist, the letters of reference must be "signed by the responsible officer/supervisor".

What does that mean?

Does it have to be the direct supervisor for each of the positions held at the company? (e.g. my team's project manager while I worked as a software developer)

Or can it be the company's HR manager? (e.g. the person who signs job offer letters, termination letters, etc.)

Thanks

SMCANADAVISA

Oct 21, 2014
Zoide said:
Hi,

According to the FSW class document checklist, the letters of reference must be "signed by the responsible officer/supervisor".

What does that mean?

Does it have to be the direct supervisor for each of the positions held at the company? (e.g. my team's project manager while I worked as a software developer)

Or can it be the company's HR manager? (e.g. the person who signs job offer letters, termination letters, etc.)

Thanks
It depends on the policies of the company. However, specifically for Canadian experience it can even be the client who you worked for. Couple of mine were signed by my direct supervisor, one by HR department that only handles this kinda reference letter issue for immigration purpose though the content was approved by my last supervisor, one by the project manager of the client for whom I implemented, one by the partner of the company.

SMCANADAVISA

Oct 21, 2014
Zoide said:
Thanks, but just to be clear, I'm asking about letters for foreign experience.
A letter of reference is a proof of the kind of work you did. Who best can certify that than your immediate supervisor, irrespective of whether foreign or home country experience. Even better if you did a project for a client and the client's manager certified you. I hope your question is answered.

Zoide

Star Member