+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Which application?

S.Stevens

Jun 16, 2010
Hello,

I have a few questions regarding the applications for PR in Canada. I'm not sure if the search overload mushed my brain, so I'm not thinking well, but I really wanted to make sure I understood everything 100%.

I've been researching Canada PR for a few years now. My fiance finally proposed and we plan and starting this process really soon.

On the CIC site, it lists two applications. One "If your spouse, partner or accompanying dependent child lives with you in Canada" or "If your spouse, partner or dependent child lives abroad." I live in the US. I know the one I would need to fill out is the second one. But my question is, is that still true if I want to get a Temporary Residency and stay with him while waiting for the application? Silly question, I know. I just wanted to be 100% sure.

Thanks for answering such a simple question. I'm not sure why I was having second thoughts. Just wanted to be sure.

-Stephanie

S.Stevens

Jun 16, 2010
So... The one where I am living abroad, even if I am staying with him on a temporary residency? I'll be sending the application in Canada after our wedding.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
These applications are generally referred to as outland and inland.

If you are in Canada as a visitor when you apply, you can pick either one.

The pros and cons are the following:

Outland through the US is faster than inland. You can expect your PR in average 7-8 months. Since your 6 months visit status would be expired by then, you should make sure that you apply to extend your visit status when you still have a month left. Since it takes 2-3 months to process the extension, you would be on implied status until you hear back but generally they tend to allow you to stay if you are being sponsored for your PR. If an interview is required for outland, you would have to go to the US for it.