+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Web Developer with MIS degree

Anubis201

Dec 14, 2019
I have a bachelor's in Management information systems. Is it possible to apply to NOC 2175? And work in Canada as a web developer?
Or is a computer science degree strictly required? And would a 2 years dipoma in CS make a difference ?

21Goose

VIP Member
Nov 10, 2016
AOR Received.
Feb 2017
I have a bachelor's in Management information systems. Is it possible to apply to NOC 2175? And work in Canada as a web developer?
Or is a computer science degree strictly required? And would a 2 years dipoma in CS make a difference ?
No, a degree is not required. However, you can't really "Apply to a NOC". This is how it works (assuming you're outside Canada and trying to work/immigrate here):

1. You apply for a job based on your skills and experience
2. A Canadian employer decides to hire you
3. The employer applies to the Canadian government for an LMIA (Labour Market Impact Assessment - basically, asking the Canadian govt. for permission to hire a foreigner for that specific role).
4. NOC 2175 falls under the Global Talent Stream. This means that your employer can get an approved LMIA in about 10 days (assuming it's approved).
5. Once the LMIA is approved, you apply for a work permit on the basis of the approved LMIA and your job offer. This will take a few weeks, say about six weeks.
6. The work permit is approved, and you can then fly to Canada and begin working
7. After a year of working here, you will probably be eligible to apply for PR because you'll get a lot of points for Canadian work experience. The NOC will be relevant for this application. And no, you don't need to have a CS degree to be approved for your PR if you can show that you have the relevant work experience.

Anubis201

Dec 14, 2019