+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

waiting for PR in Canada -visitor visa?

MaggieRoo

May 7, 2009
Hi all,

This is not exactly a CEC question, but people in Canada already may be able to advise me, I really appreciate it..

I've been working in Canada for the last 3 years on a temporary work permit. I applied to Buffalo for PR April 2008 while I still had a year's visa left, and before the CEC class and Nov '08 NOC list rules were announced.

Now my job is finishing up in two months, but no sign of the PR (though it did get moved from Buffalo to Seattle 4 months ago, good sign i hope?). If I leave when my temp work permit expires, I presume that makes my PR null and void.?? Do I stay here as a visitor, or go home and have my PR cancelled?

My plan is to apply for a temporary visitor visa, show funds to support myself (6 months or up to a year, which I can support), and explain that I want to travel/skibum/live it up as a tourist in Canada, which I fully want and intend to do. However, this may be seen as dual intent and may be held against me.

My questions are:

1. Should I be honest and mention my PR application in my visitor visa application, gut feeling is to do this.

2. In case getting a visitor visa when one has dual intent is not likely or a safe option, should I delay applying for the visitor visa until say 1 month before the work permit expires, so that the approx 95 day processing time buys me implied status time in Canada while waiting for PR? (Got that idea from one of Hero member Leon's posts! thank you!)

3. Is there a certain amount of money they require to issue a year's visitor visa?

4. I don't see a form to match exactly my situation, TWP to visitor, will I just use a change of conditions work permit extension form?

5. Also, does phoning the CIC/in my case it'll be Seattle, for additional information as to how your PR doing really delay the process, do they put you back in the pile a bit, or is this a myth?