+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Visitor Visa - Work without Permit

stizmir

Sep 4, 2015
Hello to all,

I am staying in BC, Canada since the end of October. I have a multiple entrance Tourist visa valid till 2023. I am a freelancer in a social media management company that is located in UK. I am working online and all I need is a computer and a internet connection.
I would like to go back to work during my stay here and I am wondering if I need a working Permit or I can perform my work without a Permit.
I am doing business activity that is not part of the Canadian Labor Market. My company is located out of Canada, and the primary source of remuneration for the business activities is outside Canada; also the principal place of business and actual place of accrual of profits remain predominately outside Canada. In this case, am I considered a Business visitor to work without permit? :-\

Sources about work without permit, there is a list under the Jobs that do not need a work permit named:
Business visitors
Business visitors who come to Canada to do business activities but are not part of the Canadian labour market.
Note: “Business people” does not mean the same thing.
From CIC website

And there is another source I found which says:
Division 3 - Work Without a Permit
Marginal note:No permit required

186. A foreign national may work in Canada without a work permit
(a) as a business visitor to Canada within the meaning of section 187;
187. (1) For the purposes of paragraph 186(a), a business visitor to Canada is a foreign national who is described in subsection (2) or who seeks to engage in international business activities in Canada without directly entering the Canadian labour market.
Marginal note:Specific cases

(2) The following foreign nationals are business visitors: