+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Visitor Visa for Conference from Egypt-any help?

omar92

Sep 23, 2019
Hi,
I recently applied for a TRV to attend an academic conference in Canada. It's my first time to apply for a Canadian visa, and I don't know what to expect. Most people I hear about travel to Canada to settle there, or to study, or to visit family. Very rarely do I hear about people traveling for short-term leisure/work etc. and I hear the rejection rate is pretty high. All this is anecdotal, and specific to applicants from Egypt.

I supplied bank statements, a letter from my academic institution, an invitation letter from the conference organizers in Canada, plus copies of my current+previous passports. I have a solid travel history (US, UK, Schengen), and currently hold a valid B1/B2 US visa+ UK 2 year visa. I did NOT however qualify for the elusive CAN+ program which allegedly expedites applicants with evidence of US travel. I did not supply a flight ticket, or proof of assets, just bank statements.

What are my chances? Does Canada have a history of rejecting applicants even with invites from bona fide conference organizers? Does it really take 30+ days to process a TRV application? And crucially, is there anything I can do to strengthen my case (i.e. get the organizers to e-mail the Canadian embassy in Cairo to petition on my behalf)? Worth mentioning that my conference invitation had some IRCC reference code, which indicates that the conference is "known" to Canadian immigration authorities.

Any insight or feedback would be greatly appreciated, as I feel I"m in the dark.
TIA

Sam Jankiz

Star Member
Jul 25, 2019
Hi,