+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

US citizen in Canada wants Perm. residence

mk1988

Oct 24, 2008
Hi, I'm a US citizen and live in BC with my Canadian citizen boyfriend (fiance). I'm allowed to stay until mid Feb 2009 on a Visitor Record. We're planning on being married in Canada by a Justice of the Peace fairly soon. We won't be having a church ceremony until next year when we have more free time. We wanted to know our chances of being able to apply for sponsorship under family class/perm. residence for me and it being approved.
Also, do any of you know if I need to apply to extend my stay as a visitor so I can remain in Canada while the applications are being processed?
Maybe I'm not very good at condensing information, but it seems to me that it is somewhat difficult to find clear information on exactly what needs to be done for these situations. But does this seem like the right order of things to do? Or am I missing something?
1. Apply for Sponsorship under Family Class/Permanent residence. Do these two need to be mailed together or seperate?
2. Apply for extension on visitor stay.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Yes, you need to apply to extend your visit visa a month before it expires.

You should send your sponsorship and PR applications together.

There are pretty good instructions at http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/index.asp You can find the form to extend visit visa in the visit section and the sponsorship forms in the immigrate section. Follow the different links, read all the pages and especially read the application guides for your forms.

mk1988

Oct 24, 2008
Leon said:
Yes, you need to apply to extend your visit visa a month before it expires.

You should send your sponsorship and PR applications together.