App. Filed.......
11-08-2009
Interview........
waived
VISA ISSUED...
04-11-2009
LANDED..........
04-11-2009
I am Allison VSC's partner and I work for a Canadian Telecom operator. I am also an EE and Accountant.

Job opportunities for RF Engineers in Canada are pretty good. Although generally the growth of the industry is constrained by regulations which need to be revisited (e.g., foreign ownership restrictions), the rapid increase in wireless data traffic, and emergence of wireless substitutes to traditional services (e.g., mobile TV, WBB) is putting stress on the national wireless infrastructure, and network RF engineering teams are quite busy.

Beyond operators, many consultancy businesses and several equipment suppliers (RIM, Nokia...) also hire talent in the RF engineering arena.

A couple of caveats:

- Preferable to establish contacts in the prospective hiring companies before making any major commitment to moving to Canada - if your professional project is the main reason for the move. An exploratory trip may be a good thing.

- Be willing to show some flexibility about the job location: Ontario is well endowed in wireless companies (Ottawa, Kitchener-Waterloo, Toronto), even if the recent recession has put some of the smaller ones temporarily in the ropes; but other provinces such as Quebec and Alberta also offer opportunities (including in avionics for Quebec).

- If you are not proficient in French this will be a problem in Quebec (may not be unsurmountable if you do not have to work with the public). If you are, this will be an opportunity in many places, elsewhere in Canada.