+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Teaching and research assistant points for EE

Rina9285

Star Member
Apr 10, 2013
Hi friends,

I am a PhD student in Canada and have been doing TA and RA since last three years. Could you please guide me on below questions:

1) Does a PhD student get points for TA and RA in EE profile?
2)If no, the score will be around 400 points, would that be sufficient for getting Invitation to apply?
3) Is there any PhD student out there who got PR or Invitation to apply in EE?
4) If I do postdoctoral job for 1 year after finishing my PhD, would I be able to get points for that and would I be eligible under CEC category?

Thank you in advance for your time.

Doda

May 20, 2013
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
1- Unfortunately, No. You can't count any work hours done while you were a full time student in Canada.
2- Not sufficient with the current trend. Try to look for a PNP where you live.
3- Yes.
4. Try to calculate your points and see. Until you finish a lot will happen like the proposed extra points for international graduates of Canadian universities.

Good luck :)

bellaluna

VIP Member
May 23, 2014
If you get CLB 9 on all your CELPIP tests, you'd get additional points in Skill Transferability thanks to your PhD.
But yes, you'd likely need 1 year work experience after finishing your PhD before you can qualify for Express Entry. You'd be able to get a PGWP anyway.

Try to compute for your hypothetical CRS, the last few draws were at 470+.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/skilled/crs-tool.asp

Else, as Doda said, you can also look for a paper-based PNP for PhD graduates that doesn't necessarily require 1 year work experience.

yhome

Star Member
Mar 23, 2016
Doda said:
1- Unfortunately, No. You can't count any work hours done while you were a full time student in Canada.
2- Not sufficient with the current trend. Try to look for a PNP where you live.
3- Yes.