+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Taxes for savings brought to canada after first landing

abcvita2012

Star Member
Jun 5, 2017
Hello everyone,

So I'll be landing next week in Toronto and I'm not planning to transfer my savings now since I'm not permanently moving anytime soon.

Now the question is,
If I transfer my savings to a Canadian bank account before my permanent move or at the start of it would it be taxed? and if so how to avoid it?

pie_vancouver

Jun 12, 2014
Vancouver
Category........
Visa Office......
Manila
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
VISA ISSUED...
LANDED..........

pie_vancouver

Jun 12, 2014
Vancouver
Category........
Visa Office......
Manila
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
VISA ISSUED...
LANDED..........
The op asked if the transfer is taxable, of course not. I know how to read. And you don't have to tell me that interest income is taxable, I am an Accountant.

pie_vancouver

Jun 12, 2014
Vancouver
Category........
Visa Office......
Manila
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
VISA ISSUED...
LANDED..........
So you assume that all will be put in Savings acct and not put in Chequing or TFSA, if the total interest on the money is over $50 at Dec 31st, he/she will get a T5. Not all people get T5 because of zero or low interest rate on bank deposits here.

NetMecca

Dec 12, 2013
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
14-07-2009