+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Tax payable in Canada for Term deposit interest in India

neutron

Jan 17, 2019
Hi Everyone,
I am a resident of Canada and need to file my Canadian Taxes. I have term deposits in India and understand that I have to report World Income.

My question is that do I simply add my India income(Interest income) and pay taxes as per the Canadian tax rate or I need to pay only 15% of the interest income.

According to India- Canada tax treaty (link below), Article 11 states that tax so charged shall not exceed 15 per cent of the gross amount of the interest.

https://www.treaty-accord.gc.ca/text-texte.aspx?lang=eng&id=102409

Any one who has already filed Canadian taxes and shown Interest Income from India term deposits can please guide me.

Please help

mad_hatter

Jul 16, 2016
You have misunderstood the tax treaty. It should be interpreted this way :
  1. Interest arising in a Contracting State (India) and paid to a resident of the other Contracting State (Canada) may be taxed in that other State (Canada)
  2. However, such interest may also be taxed in the Contracting State (India) in which it arises and according to the law of that State (India), but if the recipient is the beneficial owner of the interest, the tax so charged shall not exceed 15 per cent of the gross amount of the interest.
Your interest income will be fully taxed in Canada. You are allowed a foreign tax credit for the Indian 15% withholding tax.

Reactions: neutron

neutron

Jan 17, 2019
You have misunderstood the tax treaty. It should be interpreted this way :
  1. Interest arising in a Contracting State (India) and paid to a resident of the other Contracting State (Canada) may be taxed in that other State (Canada)