Hi all,

I'm Greek and I'm doing my phd in Ontario. I am a teaching assistant and
research assistant, and I have some scholarships, so I have income in
Canada and I fill my taxes every year. I've been here for about 5 years on
a study permit.

Question 1: I fill taxes here, I rent an apartment, have bank accounts, etc,
which means that I have ties here. I assume that this also means that I am a
"tax resident", or a "resident for tax purposes", right? Is there any different
terminology for my tax status in Canada?

I applied for permanent residency a couple of months ago. Now my father
back in Greece is a bit worried. He's getting older and told me that he had
intentions to pass me all his property soon. He thinks that being a PR means
that I will have more tax obligations in Canada than I have right now with my
study permit.

Question 2: Is my father right to be worried? I think that, since I do have to
fill taxes in the first place, my obligations are the same no matter if I'm a PR
or here on a study permit. Does anything change if one becomes a PR from
being just a student, when it comes to taxes?

Thanks in advance..

seton

Jun 6, 2012
Category........
Visa Office......
Ottawa
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
04-06-2012
AOR Received.
05-11-2012
Med's Request
15-02-2013
Med's Done....
21-02-2013
Passport Req..
04-04-2013
VISA ISSUED...
22-04-2013
LANDED..........
03-05-2013
geo909 said:
Question 1: I fill taxes here, I rent an apartment, have bank accounts, etc,
which means that I have ties here. I assume that this also means that I am a
"tax resident", or a "resident for tax purposes", right? Is there any different
terminology for my tax status in Canada?
Nope - you have it about right. There's a difference between being a factual resident or deemed resident, but none apply in your case right now.

I applied for permanent residency a couple of months ago. Now my father
back in Greece is a bit worried. He's getting older and told me that he had