+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Tax for year 2017 (became PR in early 2017 but left immediately)

ybjianada

Sep 6, 2015
Category........
Visa Office......
Singapore
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
20-01-2016
AOR Received.
20-01-2016
Med's Done....
Passed on 24-01-2016
Passport Req..
06-12-2016
VISA ISSUED...
23-12-2016
Hi,

I know the tax season is almost upon us. I have been reading the pages on the Canada Revenue Agency website, but everything is so very confusing. I was wondering if people can help me here, or direct me to appropriate sources. But let me first state my situation:

I became a PR of Canada in January 2017, but left immediately to return to Singapore to work. During my "short landing" in Vancouver, I opened a savings account at RBC, and the interests earned in 2017 were a little more than $400.

I have been working in Singapore since Jan 2017, and will be moving back to Canada in the middle of this year (that is, 2018). Canada and Singapore have an income tax treaty. I am a Singapore resident for both 2017 and 2018. This means that I will pay income taxes to the Singapore authorities for earnings in both 2017 and 2018. At the same time, I want to make absolutely sure that I fulfill my Canadian tax obligations, since I will be applying for Canadian citizenship once I become eligible. I have the following questions regarding my tax status for 2017, as well as the tax implications of the date of moving back to Canada in 2018 (this year).

1. Despite the interest earned on my RBC account, I assume I was a non-resident for 2017, since I lived in Canada for less than 183 days in 2017 and I had no significant residential ties to Canada in 2017. Is this the correct conclusion?

2. Do I need to file taxes to the Canadian Revenue Agency this April for year 2017?