+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Studying outside of Canada and sponsoring spouse

thekindofguy

Star Member
Jun 14, 2010
Hi Everyone,

Just beginning the application to sponsor my spouse and I am confused regarding my residency status. I am a student who has been studying outside Canada for 7 years now and will finish next year. I have only visited Canada every couple of years for only a few weeks at a time.

I was born in Canada and still maintain a valid Canadian drivers license and health card.

Am I considered a Canadian citizen who is living exclusively outside of Canada? This is in reference to form IMM1344E.

I thank you in advance for your help.

tahsinmohammad

Sep 1, 2012
Category........
NOC Code......
Citizenship
thekindofguy said:
Hi Everyone,

Just beginning the application to sponsor my spouse and I am confused regarding my residency status. I am a student who has been studying outside Canada for 7 years now and will finish next year. I have only visited Canada every couple of years for only a few weeks at a time.

I was born in Canada and still maintain a valid Canadian drivers license and health card.

Am I considered a Canadian citizen who is living exclusively outside of Canada? This is in reference to form IMM1344E.

I thank you in advance for your help.
As a Canadian Citizen we have a privilege to apply for Spouse PR from anywhere in the world.I am also living exclusively outside Canada since 4-5 years and applied for Spouse PR and waiting to hear from New Delhi Office.

One extra thing we have to show the Visa Officer that we will travel back to Canada once he/she gets her PR i.e Intent of coming back to Canada and live.

thekindofguy

Star Member
Jun 14, 2010
Tahsin,