+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

State Side PhD/Post-doc Looking to Immigrate to Canada

StateSidePhD

Aug 8, 2012
Hi all, Let me start by saying I'm very new to this discussion board but am glad something like this exists. My questions are pretty general at the moment (or maybe they're specific, I'm not sure), so I hope that I am posting this in the right place. If I didn't, please have some patience. :)

I am a US citizen, born and raised in the states. I'm currently working as a post-doctoral research fellow (1 year of experience as post-doc) in a bio-medical field. I've traveled to Canada several times and have decided that I'd like to plan for a career in Ontario, Quebec, BC, or Alberta when my post-doc in the States expires (I have another year to go - yes I know that might be awhile away, but can't hurt to start looking early; especially with all the questions). Let's assume that, after preliminary interviews with a Canadian company/university, I would be offered a position. This is where my questions begin:

Who is responsible for the visa application/immigration forms if I am hired by a company? (I'm assuming they would have to file the paperwork in support of bringing a non-Canadian citizen aboard). I ask this because I'm wondering if there is any paperwork I, myself, can start in the interim to get the ball rolling (even though I don't have an offer letter yet).

If I have an offer letter, is the process expedited more quickly? I ask because I think the current processing time for the US is 28 months (yikes); so if there is no difference in processing time, then I need to get my contacts established (Even though I have about a year left at my current position).

How does the renewal process work in such a case? Do I require continued sponsorship from the "company" and who files the renewal paperwork?