+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Start Family Sponsorship while Family is in Canada on Super Visa?

iogurt

May 12, 2013
Hey everyone,

A few things to know for my questions to make sense:
- I've been a Permanent Resident in Canada for 5 years. I've lived in Canada since 2008 (work permit for first 5 years).
- My parents want to come visit me for an extended period of time.
- We're all from Switzerland (visa-exempt and visitors are allowed to stay up to 6 months in Canada)
- We all fulfill the necessary conditions for Super Visa (income, health, ...)

Our plan:
1. My parents come to Canada in April 2019, entering without visa.
2. While they are here, we will apply for a Super Visa. They'll have to send the passports to Paris and do the medical check-up. I've checked with panel-approved physicians here in Canada and they say they can do the medical check while my parents are already in Canada. We just wanted to make sure physicians are allowed to do that with people that are already in Canada. I'd imagine for 90%+ of Super Visa applicants do their check-up in their home country.
3. Once all papers are back from Paris, we'll do a flag-pole run down to the States and come back to have it approved.
4. Once approved, we'll start the Family Sponsorship. Backlog for these are around 6 years right now.

Questions:
1. As for Super Visa application, I saw a lot of posts that said that you CAN apply for a Super Visa from within Canada. But sometimes I also read that you have to apply for a Super Visa from your home country. Can someone that is 100% sure about this give me an answer?
2. Are we allowed to start the Family Sponsorship program, while my parents are in Canada? If everything goes well, they will be here for up to 10 years, we'll renew Super Visa every 2 years for another 2 years.
3. Can anyone see any problems with this plan?

Thanks!

Last edited:

Buletruck

VIP Member
May 18, 2015
Couple of issues