+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

sponsorship and open work permit

Jun 24, 2011
Hello,
We have been waiting for two years for my boyfriends PR to be finished and since March we haven't had any news, I am afraid that next time they'll say that some of the documents are no longer valid and it's going to take another year or more to complete the stupid procedure . . . we have been apart for 2 years, how much longer can they make us wait (he has applied inland . . . stupid, but he hadn't done his research on time).
Anyways, he got a tourist visa and I wonder what we should do. I don't know if waiting will result in anything, They already asked him to do the medical exams in the beginning of 2010, now, he'll probably have to redo them at least. . . but I think that if they are not communicating with us for so long, this my continue for a long time . . . the other thing we could do is get married, the I can sponsor him (I am a full time student, working part time, but he has a bachelor’s degree from here and a masters from a good European university, he knows both English and French is only 26, what seems to me a very good candidate, he has lived here for 4 years already and has family here too). If we do that, he has to be able to find a job in a few months, I read that it might take 6 months to get an open work permit, but then I read it might take 10+ months . . . we could figure out something for 6 months . . . but he will have to find a job fast. How long does it actually take? Will he get a medical card and when will he be allowed to? Is it only after he gets the PR card? What about a driving permit? I have plane tickets and tons of pictures for evidence that we have been together for over 3 years and that I have visited him for the 2 years that we have been apart. Would they reimburse us for the skilled worker procedure if we are applying for another procedure?