+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Sponsor girlfriend who is currently holding Student Visa in Canada

vcn310

Jul 2, 2014
Hi everyone,

My girlfriend and I are planing to live together in an apartment in December 2014. She came to Canada in 8/2012 with a Student Visa which is going to expire in 8/2016.
Right now I am an international recent graduate who is currently working for my professor at university as a research assistant. If everything is okay, I am going to receive PR around November 2015~May 2016 hopefully.
So as long as I have PR status, I plan to sponsor my girlfriend as a common-law partner because we decide not to get married in near future. At time time, we would be probably already living together more than 1 year, so I think we are eligible to apply the Sponsor for Common-law Partner Within Canada (please correct me if I am wrong here, thanks).
The issue is that my girlfriend has stopped studying in January 2013 because it was very difficult for her to adapt the academic environment in Canada due to her limited English skills. So she decided to stop school, and stayed at home to take care of 3 children of her aunt. In the summers, she also helped her aunt do stuffs in their hair-salon. So what I try to mention here is that she is no longer a student right now.
So my question is that is is illegal for us to apply for the Sponsor in June 2016? I am very afraid that we would be rejected because she has stopped studying for a long time. I want her to stay with me in Canada, and I don't want her to come back our country when her student visa expires in August 2016.

Please help us!
Thank you!

Rob_TO

VIP Member
Nov 7, 2012
Toronto
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
Seoul, Korea
App. Filed.......
13-07-2012
AOR Received.
18-08-2012
File Transfer...
21-08-2012
Med's Done....
Sent with App
Passport Req..
N/R - Exempt
VISA ISSUED...
30-10-2012
LANDED..........
16-11-2012
vcn310 said: