+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Self-employed experience by client?

colcol

May 27, 2019
Hi all. A question popped in my head while setting up the files y should upload for my eAPR.

Context:
I'm an illustrator, most of my work history has been self-employed. I also had a time working at a college (employed, part time).

I'm not sure how I should list my self employed experience in the work history area of the application.
From May 2016 to Sep 2017 I worked mostly for one client at a time as independent contractor, with some degree of overlapping:

06/2016 - 09/2016 ILLUSTRATOR - CLIENT 1 40hours/week
09/2016 - 01/2017 ILLUSTRATOR - CLIENT 2 24hours/week
01/2017 - 06/2017 ILLUSTRATOR - CLIENT 3 30hours/week
05/2017 - 09/2017 ILLUSTRATOR - CLIENT 4 30hours/week

Question 1: Could this count as Continuous experience? As I said, all these jobs overlapped (client 1 ended on september 24, while I client 2 started on september 10, and so on)

Question 2. There seem to be two options for uploading this experience:

option 1 Put each period as separate "employers" in the work experience, the employer being the client, and ticking the "self employed" box. As supporting documents I have reference letter, invoices, wire transfer receipts (some clients were from abroad) and bank statements.

option 2 Make one big period form 06/2016 to 09/2017 in the work experience, put FREELANCE ILLUSTRATION in the employer field, ticking the self-employed box and in the supporting document make a big document with chronologically organized documents showing: reference letter client 1 -> proofs of payment client 1 -> reference letter client 2 -> proofs of payment client 2 ... and so on. at the end I would include my chamber of commerce registration (which covers the whole period) and the affidavit of translation.