+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Received CoPR , DS 160 related question

Ozil23

Jul 31, 2018
Hello, I received a CoPR recently and while i was filling my DS -160 application for H1B stamping in the Canada , i came across this question:
Are you a permanent resident of a country/region other than your country/region of origin (nationality) indicated above?"
I have answered this question as 'No' AND submitted my DS-160 application . The reason being since i do not have a PR Card yet and probably won't have it at the time of my H1B visa stamping ( appointment will be within a week of landing)
This is my first time landing in canada and first time H1B stamping in Canada.

Please advise if i need to correct this or if i can justify to the visa officer at the time of interview if a related question is asked.

Thanks

lossada

Sep 5, 2017
Hello, I received a CoPR recently and while i was filling my DS -160 application for H1B stamping in the Canada , i came across this question:
Are you a permanent resident of a country/region other than your country/region of origin (nationality) indicated above?"
I have answered this question as 'No' AND submitted my DS-160 application . The reason being since i do not have a PR Card yet and probably won't have it at the time of my H1B visa stamping ( appointment will be within a week of landing)

Please advise if i need to correct this or if i can justify to the visa officer at the time of interview if a related question is asked.

Thanks
before you have landed, you become PR, with CoRP, you are no officially resident of Canada, you have to activate (landing) your status

mpsqra

Champion Member
Jul 6, 2017
Category........
QSW
Visa Office......
CPC Ottawa

Thanks
for residents in Canada you have to meet residency requirement:
To maintain your status as a permanent resident, you must live in Canada for at least two years within a five-year period. During this time you must be here physically.

Ozil23