+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Question about the BC MSP regular premium assistance! Help!

ejrrnsnsk

Mar 9, 2016
Hi. I'm in the process of applying BC MSP regular premium assistance, so that my unpaid bill is erased.
(I got billed almost 900$ even though I never had a job in this or previous year. I have been a full time university student).
I intend to apply for it as soon as I receive my notice of assessment to deduct my unpaid invoices..

However, I am planning permanently move outside of British Columbia in June, so does anyone know what should I do in this case?
should I just wait until my unpaid bill is erased? I'm not sure about the time it takes for MSP to process the regular premium assistance, because I will leave in June.
OR, should I just cancel MSP and leave BC?
If I cancel the MSP then what happens to my unpaid invoices?
Do they track me internationally or sth?

I appreciate your helps.
Thank you

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I think you should postpone your move until they've cleared your bill. If you leave, they might not feel like you should qualify for premium assistance. I wouldn't put it to the test anyway.

If you lose that chance and just up and move and cancel your coverage, you will still have the debt and it will mess up your credit rating. I don't know how far they go about billing you though. They will probably not chase you across the world for it.

smk_ujs

Star Member
Jul 4, 2015
What is this premium assistance?

and why would they bill some one 900 dollars when some one has bc CARE CARD? Shouldnt medical expenses be covered under that?

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
smk_ujs said:
What is this premium assistance?

and why would they bill some one 900 dollars when some one has bc CARE CARD? Shouldnt medical expenses be covered under that?
Yes but in BC you must pay a monthly premium for your healthcare.